Zen Shiatsu and the 5 Element points...Help!

forum post

Zen Shiatsu and the 5 Element points...Help!

Published on 07-08-2009

"archived-user" has authored 334 other posts.

Submitted By: KenpoVortex

Hello Everyone.

I have been learning Zen Shiatsu for the last several months and while researching the 5 Elements I came across 5 Element acupoints for each meridian.

I am stumped on somehting. Why/how do the points for half of the meridians go against the normal chi flow for that meridian? I will use the Lung Meridian as an example...Wood Jing-Well is LU11, Fire Ying-Spring is LU10, Earth Shu-Stream is LU9, Metal Jing-River is LU8, Water He-Sea is LU5.

The info I came across states that the Jing- Well is "where the chi of the meridian emerges and begins moving towards the trunk of the body."

If LU7 is where the chi branches off to connect with Large Intestine meridian, which then begins to move towards the trunk of the body, what is the significant meaning of this difference? Do the meridians have a 2-way chi flow?

I feel as though I am missing something quite obvious and not seeing it, any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hayden

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: lu 7, lu 9

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• What is a cun? - 12-31-2021
  • Acupuncture Education for DO's and MD's - 12-31-2021
  • Ion Cords - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on Jul 2009