Study acupuncture, bodywork, or a combination?

forum post

Study acupuncture, bodywork, or a combination?

Published on 12-23-2010

"mozola" - this is their first post.

I have been interested in chinese medicine for a long time and have contemplated changing careers for awhile. I have a degree in Biology and have been working in clinical research for the past 4.5 years in Boston. My concern is mostly financial since acupuncture school is expensive and starting my own practice is expensive.

I am moving to TX in a year, but I have an opportunity to train in acupressure shiatsu (550 hour certification) before I leave. It is less school and a lot cheaper, but I wanted to find out whether I would be very limited then in practicing tcm? I would continue to study chinese medicine and other therapies (including tong ren), but would it be a mistake to not just go initially for acupuncture school?

For awhile I considered doing the acupressure program, opening up a practice, and then when I had enough clients to support me, go to acupuncture school. I was told this probably wasn't a good idea, since maintaining a practice AND going to school is a lot of work and not realistic. Most people have told me to do nursing school, since it would allow me more financial stability, serve as a great flexible job while in acu school, and complement an eastern medicine practice. My problem with nursing - a lot of stress and i'm fairly squeemish. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Dec 2010