Scleroderma reynauds syndrome

forum post

Scleroderma reynauds syndrome

Published on 02-17-2010

"Dennis_Valentin" has authored 1 other post.

HI Everyone,

I am a massage therapist, myofascial release, but am very interested in Oriental medicine and bodywork. My question is: are there meridiam points useful for Scleroderma (autoimmune disorder) overproduction of connective tissue and hardening of the skin? Or possibly any herbs that could benefit my client. Myofascial release has helped with softening of tissue externally but am looking for anythingthat would benefit internally.

Would appreciate any feedback, thank you Dennis

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: ex tian dong, gv 17, gv 20, gv 22, kd 26, li 11, li 18, si 16, sp 10, st 36, th 16, ub 9

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• Fibromyalgia - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on Feb 2010

There are various types of scleroderma, essentially from localized to systemic, and Raynaud's Disease can exist with scleroderma (less common) or without (80%+). Raynaud's can also co-exist with other auto-immune conditions such as lupus. Generally Raynaud's disease is when it is stand-alone and Raynaud's phenomena when it co-exists with an auto-immune condition.

I'll offer the areas we focus on below for both conditions and you can choose what you think it best based on your knowledge of the patient.