Returning to practice

forum post

Returning to practice

Published on 07-15-2014

"archived-user" has authored 334 other posts.

Hi everyone.

I am posting on here because I have used this site a lot and really value the wealth of knowledge and experience of its users. I am hoping you can provide me with advice about returning to practice Acupuncture and Bodywork.

I graduated in 2004 with a BSC Hons Traditional Chinese Medicine. I practiced very briefly at the acupuncture clinic at the university, which, after 6 mnoths, ended as the number of patients decreased and I also relocated to Glastonbury. Whilst there I worked ina supermarket whilst trying to set up - I arranged to rent a room in Ying Yang health Centre where after paying a despoit, I was told the room would be refurbished and after several weeks the room was a bombsite and the owners of the company left the business. This affected my confidence and I also had no response to leaflets and business cards I had left inthe local area, yellow page listings etc. A few years later I moved to Oxford due to personal reasons. There, I attempted to keep my toe in and networked with an acupuncturist there who asked me to continue her practice whilst she went away. At he time my pesonal confidence was low and I declined her lovely offer (I am kicking myself now). Since then I have been drawn to and away from Acupuncture like a yoyo. In the last 5 years, I did a course in korean hand acupuncture, I have done some self study to refresh my skills, I have also been practising on friends and family. More recently I have been drawn to massage. I completed a massage module at university, which incorporated acupressure although the main techniques were swedish massage. I also copleted a short course at a community college in swedish massage. After a string of jobs in areas that I thought I was interested in, including careers advice, social work and welfare officer, arts and crafts workshop facilitiator. I am now assessing wh