Post Herpetic Neuralgia treatment?

forum post

Post Herpetic Neuralgia treatment?

Published on 03-19-2015

"anon125171" has authored 1 other post.

Wondering if anyone has experience with Post Herpetic Neuralgia? Upon a cursory internet search, it seems that hua tuo points and bleeding ah shi points can be utilized.

Patient is 82 yrs old.
Pulse:
Wiry Liver position.
Slippery and Tight Spleen and Lung.
Remarkably strong Kidney pulses for his age.

Tongue: Red HT/LU areas, constrained sides. Dry, thick yellowish coating.

Pain is worse at night when laying down. Can’t sleep because of it. Sometimes experiences pins and needles or pain during the day. Experiences itching as well, but the pain is more prominent. Pain is localized to a dime shaped area on inferior angle of scapula (most intense pain is here) and usually surrounds it a few inches on every side. Sometimes pain spreads to ribs under the axilla and the front of chest.

I am a student practicing at a student clinic, so any insight would be greatly appreciated.

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: ex huatuojiaji, gb 20, gv 19, kd 6, lu 7, lv 8, ub 40

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• Tx for itching? - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on Mar 2015

With active shingles, I find huatuo points and cupping with bloodletting the most effective in the vast majority of cases. With the lingering affects huatuo points and tuina (in the huatuo area and out a bit towards the area - but no on the area) is the most ideal. Bloodletting could be applied as well, but, again, I usually only see that helpful in active shingles - but if I didn’t start seeing results in 3-5 treatments I might add it in. This should respond very well. I’ve done lots of cases of shingles and some folks with the lingering neuralgia (some having up over 10 years) and they all come along really well.