Plantar Fasciitis

forum post

Plantar Fasciitis

Published on 11-26-2009

"Newmoon" has authored 5 other posts.

I have been diagnosed with plantar fasciitis in my left foot and have been in quite a lot of pain with it for about 18 months. It hurts when I walk or put any pressure on it. I am a second year acupuncture student and my colleagues tried a treatment on me where they needled the aishi points on the left foot, and also burned a little thread moxa on the painful area. However, this treatment gave me no relief at all from the pain. I think it is difficult to pin point the exact point of the pain as it is more in the general area of underneath my heel and at the back of my heel.

Please has anyone got any ideas for acupuncture treatment or any other advice to relieve the pain such as stretching exercises etc.

I would be very grateful for anyones advice.

Thank you

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: gb 39, kd 2, kd 3, sp 3, sp 4, ub 40, ub 57, ub 60

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Nov 2009

This is definitely a treatable condition but some self-help techniques and proper shoes are also important. As the previous poster noted, needling the most sensitive areas is usually not that effective - possibly even counterproductive. What is effective is to focus on loosening the calf and the achilles tendon (to avoid pulling the fascia on the bottom of the foot) - KD 3, UB 60, UB 40, UB 57, GB 39 - and then some local needling on points like SP 3, SP 4, KD 2, etc. to reduce local inflammation. We also use huatuo needling at T7 and L3 to faciliate circulation into the leg/foot.