Painful Periods

forum post

Painful Periods

Published on 04-28-2007

"K8ekale" - this is their first post.

Hello,

I am hoping that somebody might be able to help me. I am a member of the public, and I have been receiving acupuncture for about eight months for painful periods. Since I was quite young I have I suffered pain and fatigue with my periods to the extent that I need to take a day to two days off, I think it has become worse in the last 5 years or so, I am now 31. My question is how long I should continue to keep trying? There were some initial changes, the severity of the pain is better and the sickness and diarreah that used to accompany it changed, the flow has also been gradually becoming less with fewer clots. But I am still bed ridden during the first couple of days.

When I ask the acupuncturist about it he tells me that he thinks it will be better next time. I guess I was hoping for a more independent view. Is it worth my persisting? Do cases like this sometimes take a long time? Should I look into working with a different doctor? Or trying a different therapy? I generally lead a pretty stress free life, eat well, and exercise, and have never been on the pill.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Many thanks
Kate

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Apr 2007

Hello Kate,

Painful periods are commonly treated with acupuncture and while some cases may prove difficult to fully treat, most cases respond well within 3 cycles and within 6 in more severe cases. You are beyond both of those measures at this point.

Before I offer a more substantial opinion, could you tell me which style your acupuncturist practices (five element, tcm, etc.) and how often you are going (weekly, bi-weekly, etc.). Also if you were prescribed any herbs, Chinese or otherwise.

top Login/Comment

comment by "K8ekale"
on Apr 2007

....also

He tends to needle the same points each session.

Kate

top Login/Comment

comment by "K8ekale"
on Apr 2007