Injury from Electric Shock - treatment protocols / ensuing pattern suggestions

forum post

Injury from Electric Shock - treatment protocols / ensuing pattern suggestions

Published on 03-19-2013

"anon222841" has authored 1 other post.

I am a shiatsu therapist, but my treatment protocols are based upon the framework of TCM, so I imagine I'll get some thoughtful and helpful responses from this acupuncture forum. I currently have a client with an interesting injury that lead to his current string of seemingly typical yin deficient symptoms. He was electrocuted a year and a half ago while working a job when he was up on a utility pole. Since then (he had none of these symptoms before the incident) he has suffered from chronic and often extreme anxiety, insomnia, depression, PTSD, whole body general pain (nerve and muscle), and occipital headaches. The unexpected thing is that he generally runs cold and often asks me to turn the heat up in the room. I'd like to know what everyone here thinks would be a typical TCM pattern resulting from electrocution. I'd think yin deficiency, specifically Kidney Xu. Ultimately what I'd like to know is what electrocution does energetically to the body from a TCM standpoint. (I have looked for case studies for this type of injury and in my text books, and nothing at all comes up for electric shock.) If anyone has worked with treating this type of injury in the past I'd greatly appreciate any input. He's coming to me to help with the anxiety and PTSD, and I'd like to really be able to get to the root of his problem.

Thanks!

Jenna

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "anon222841"
on Mar 2013