Hypothyroid - Where to start?

forum post

Hypothyroid - Where to start?

Published on 12-03-2017

"anon187574" - this is their first post.

I’m a 40yr old male.

I’m pretty sure I’ve been hypothyroid since I was a kid but was only diagnosed about 3 years ago after I really started started struggling with fatigue after I started eating paleo. I guess I wasn’t getting enough carbohydrates.

I’m on 100mcg of levothyroxine and although it has helped some I feel like I could be much better.

I’ve tried just about every vitamin and mineral imaginable without much results.

Additionally it’s probably important to note that I’m also a firefighter. Really the only stress involved with the job is when we have to get up in the middle of the night to go on a call. Sometimes it’s a couple times a night, sometimes it’s none at all.

My biggest struggles as far as symptoms go are fatigue, not being able to sleep through the night, forgetfulness cold hands and feet low and mid back pain and I don’t handle stress very well. Also I have had the white coating on my tongue for a couple years.

My appetite used to be really great but in the past year it’s totally tanked.

I plan to setup an appt with a local acupuncture guy on Tuesday.

I’m pretty discouraged to be honest.

I’m totally open to any and all suggestions

Thanks so much

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Dec 2017

This is where you start:

gottifire:

I plan to setup an appt with a local acupuncture guy on Tuesday.

These conditions are very well treated with Chinese Medicine. So long as your acupuncturist is reasonably skilled and a fully licensed acupuncturist, who, ideally, also practices Chinese herbal medicine - give him 3-5 months and you should be on a very good path.

top Login/Comment

comment by "anon187574"
on Dec 2017

Thank you for that input Chad. The guy I was thinking about was neither.

I just made an appt with a lady who is both.

Thanks again

top Login/Comment

on Dec 2017