How long to treat, and how to stop!

forum post

How long to treat, and how to stop!

Published on 01-29-2011

"bingo" has authored 2 other posts.

Hi I am a student in my clinical year with a question re sinusitis.

I have a client responding very well to treatment for sinsusitis. All credit to her she is a very positive and compliant client! Her acute symptoms reduced dramtically during the first treatment, seemed to plateau after treatment 3, then after #5 she improved again (could be my needling, i got stronger qi sensation during treatment 5). I'm tonifying wei qi via Sp-6 St-36 as well but the ben is harder to read. With her acute symptoms nearly clear, how long should i continue to tonify the underlying wei qi and how should i discharge her. At a guess I am wondering should I start to remove local points and monitor her to see if the local symptoms return?

This raises the general question of how to know when to stop treating. I feel that I need to develop a process of reducing the treatment (once their symptoms have improved) to test if they are ready to move towards to managing without weekly acupuncture. I'm sure when it stops being free this will help but that is part of my reasoning too, i mean no one minds gettting free treatments but when i start charging i need to know how to manage their treatment so they don't feel they are being kept on in order to fund my salary!

Any ideas appreciated! Many thanks

Emma

Below are the most recent, view all here.

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "archived-user"
on Jan 2011

Normally for treatment is ten times a term, every 2 days for one treatment, basic on your patients situation, you can longer or shorter your treatment term or frequency.

top Login/Comment

comment by "Emma"
on Jan 2011