HELP! - I don't know where to start with a case

forum post

HELP! - I don't know where to start with a case

Published on 01-05-2018

"anon129242" has authored 2 other posts.

Hello,
I am a recent graduate of TCM (new practitioner). I had a new patient today that I need some guidence with.
Age 53 Male
Cheif Compliant: Back pain and Neuropathy in both lower legs and hands.

He has a degenerative disk in L5 - S1, he has had this for 7 years and is now developing scoliosis in lower lumbar.
His lower legs are puffy and dark in color because of poor blood circulation and low sensitivity.

He had a spinal tap 6 years ago which resulted in bacterial spinal meningitis for 6 days. He now has brain fog.

He has had a knee replacement in right knee 2 years ago. Recovering well. He also will be needing one in his left knee in the near future.

He is overweight, tall, and big boned. He has loose stools always for the past 4-5 years, bruises easy, and bleeds easy.

He is on about 2 different pain medications. Which I am guessing might explain the loose stools.

Sleep apnea.

Sciatic pain on left leg.

Impotence.

Also feet also cramp up when standing for long periods of time.

Tongue: Pale purple, with white coat, teeth marks, red tip, stagnation lines.

Pulse: Right- Wirey/ Strong, weak lung
Left- Weak Liver, wirey.

I am seeing all sorts of signs here.
Spleen Qi def.
Kidney Qi def.
Liver qi stagnation
Blood Stasis

I just don’t know where to start. I treated him today with some Master Tung points for pain, focusing on low back and sciatica. Points to boost the KD and SP. Move Qi and Blood.

He is coming in again next week for another treatment.

Does anyone have any suggestions of where to start or tackle a case where everything seems to be going wrong!

Thank you in advance.

-Logan

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: ex huatuojiaji, gb 20, gb 34, gb 39, gv 20, ht 7, lv 8, sp 9, ub 32, ub 40, ub 60

Below are the most recent, view all here.