Help! adverse patient reaction

forum post

Help! adverse patient reaction

Published on 02-02-2007

"archived-user" has authored 334 other posts.

Submitted By: daphne

I am still relatively new in the field (2 years), and a patient's adverse reactions to therapy create stress (not sure if more for me, or for the patient). 51 year old female. single, never married, no children. main complaint: stressed, insomnia, mood swings, anxious, palpitations, anxiety. Thin, frail-looking, apprehensive. wants tx to calm the spirit. dx: empty heat in HT, kid yin xu, stagnation of qi. Was stressed and apprehensive during first session. Needled: Sp-6, St-36, Pc-6 (HT 7 was too painful and needle removed) LI-10. For the next two days after tx, her symptoms were made worse, she became even more anxious, and she discontinued tx. Was the reaction due to her fears and apprehension, or incorrect treatment. Your input will be GREATLY appreciated.

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• What is a cun? - 12-31-2021
  • Acupuncture Education for DO's and MD's - 12-31-2021
  • Ion Cords - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on Feb 2007

Hello Daphne,

I know that it can be just as uncomfortable for you as the experience may have been for your patient, but these things happen. Many new patients are nervous about acupuncture initially and those with anxiety disorders are, perhaps, even more apt to find it difficult to relax during the treatment.