Help! 8th Treatment for Dry Eyes/Irregular Periods

forum post

Help! 8th Treatment for Dry Eyes/Irregular Periods

Published on 11-03-2009

"Dana76" - this is their first post.

Hello -

I am new to acupuncture and I'm wondering when I should start to see some improvement with my condition. I am on my 8th visit with an acupuncture therapist (MAc, LAc) who is trained in Chinese Traditional Medicine and the cost of the sessions is starting to become a concern. Let me explain my condition:

- Dry eyes for the past 9 months (VERY SEVERE with lid inflammation for the past 2 months)

- Irregular periods since age 18 (have been taking birth control pills to regulate for the past 15 years - just 3 months ago I stopped the pill completely). Still no period, but had one very small one (3 days) 2 months ago. Husband and I would like to try to get pregnant soon.

- Cold intolerance (cold hands and feet)

- Prone to anxiety

Acupuncture therapist says that I have a liver/blood deficiency and since I have been on birth control for so long, my liver is taxed (damp?). I am seeing him once a week for the last 8 weeks and have only seen improvement with the anxiety. I'm taking the Chinese herbs: Angelica Dang GuiBlue Poppy Herbs "Change & Enrich" (Geng Nian Dan Zhi Xiao Yao San), Blue Poppy Herbs "Resolve Depression & Stabilize Sleep" (Jie Yu Ding Mian Fang), and Plum Flower "Free & Easy Wanderer Plus Teapills (Jia Wei Xiao Yao Wan).

How many visits should I expect? Any words of encouragement/advice are greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "Michael_Cote"
on Nov 2009