Erythromelagia

forum post

Erythromelagia

Published on 08-04-2013

"archived-user" has authored 334 other posts.

Hello. I have a patient who has been diagnosed with neuropathy. She is experiencing pain, numbness and burning mainly in her left foot (dorsal aspect) in her 3 middle toes. It also is present in the heel. She has some of the same symptoms on the right side but much less. When she lays down at night, the condition worsens. The symptoms are fixed and not moving / radiating. The right foot is noticeably redder and hotter. The skin has a splotchy appearance. It looks to me like she has devloped Erythromelalgia. I would like to ask if anyone has experience with treating this? I have some ideas but it is my first time treating anything like it and am trying to be cautious of agravating it further. She was seeing an acupuncturist previously and had some successs with managing pain but now has come to me with the worsening of the condition. My biggest concern is pushing this deeper. I am treating li/gb heat and blood stagnation. First treatment, I needled lv 8 , lv 3, gb 37 sp 3,, sp 6 st 36 , ht 7 and gb 20.

Her pain was greatly reduced by the time she left the clinic but flared again in a day.Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. I will update this post later with the next treatment. Thank you!

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• What is a cun? - 12-31-2021
  • Acupuncture Education for DO's and MD's - 12-31-2021
  • Ion Cords - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "Ted_Happytrigge"
    on Aug 2013

Hey Victoria.

As the pain is mainly on left foot, needle LI 3 and 4 for the pain on her right foot.

For the heel pain PC 6 and 8 on right side.

For the redness and swelling St 44 on her left foot. GB 31 on her right leg, deep needling and slowly pull out the needle twoards the skin.

Retain needles for at least 1 hour.

All the best Schon

top Login/Comment

comment by "Vduenes1"
    on Aug 2013

Hi Schon,