Basic guidance and questions about the tongue

forum post

Basic guidance and questions about the tongue

Published on 04-26-2014

"OKAMIKING" has authored 2 other posts.

Dear forum members,

I actually have two questions. I am currently a pre-med student going into medical school to be a surgeon. I find TCM very interesting and would like to integrate it into my practice one day, however because of the cost of medical school I can't see myself going for acupuncture and 5 element diet/ natural remedy training for several years.

1. I read most of the articles I can find on TCM, but does anyone have suggestions of free references that give a very strong foundation in theories which can easily be put into practice? I don't want to learn a way of thinking in med school just to have to unlearn it for TCM, so I need something with strong concepts especially definitions and explanations (a lot of things are lost in translation).

2. I've been spending a lot of time recently trying to understand the TCM tongue diagnostic, but I haven't seen enough real examples to make much sense of it. Today I took a look at my tongue and it looks like there are multiple things out of balance. I also have a bad headache coupled with muscle tension, and localized pain at St-1 running down the neck to the chest then traveling down the right arm to SI-1. I've included a link with a picture. Any help would be very much appreciated; I really can't make too much sense out of it.

Thanks a bunch!

AB

Below are the most recent, view all here.

• Flow of the bladder meridian - 12-31-2021
  • Foot pulse - 12-31-2021
  • Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
    on Apr 2014

Honestly my site is easily one of the most comprehensive places to learn, but you really have to go through all of it. For a practical starting point, I would look through the protocols found within our acupuncture protocol section.