Analgesia during birth

forum post

Analgesia during birth

Published on 03-26-2008

"lamoreira" - this is their first post.

Hi

My name is Luis Moreira, and I am a 4th year student of TCM in Portugal.

I wanted to know if anyone has knowledge od acupuncture protocols for pain relief (analgesia) during birth.

Thanks

Luis

This post has the following associations:

Acupoints: li 4, sp 6, ub 67

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Mar 2008

Acupuncture can be very helpful during the entire course of pregnancy as well as for breech presentations, late-stage pelvic pain, and labor pain and ease. I have an article which is not yet complete which covers many of these - it is the "Chinese Medicine Treatment of Pregnancy, Child-Birth and Post-Partum Issues." The part I am currently missing in the article is about labor pain, so I will offer some of this information now.

In general, many of the reachable points that are contraindicated during pregnancy are very helpful for easing labor pain and shortening delivery times. There have been a number of studies looking at the use of acupuncture for labor pain instead of conventional medicine for obvious reasons, particularly safety to the child and mother. A couple of the studies worth highlighting are below:

1. Effects of LI4 and BL 67 acupressure on labor pain and uterine contractions in the first stage of labor - looked at the effect of LI 4 and UB 67 on labor pain (using acupressure - which is arguably lighter in effect than acupuncture) and found significant reductions in labor pain.

2. Pain relief by applying transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) on acupuncture points during the first stage of labor: a randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial - looked at applying TENS units to LI 4 and SP 6 and found reductions in labor pain.