1st year student - any advice welcome!

forum post

1st year student - any advice welcome!

Published on 11-27-2008

"Newmoon" has authored 5 other posts.

Hello

I am a first year Acupuncture student and I wondered if anyone has any advice on learning the points and meridians. I have a practical coming up where I have to identify a selection of points and I also have a written test where I have to give the indications/uses for each point. There are so many, how am I supposed to remember them all?!! I think I am doing ok with my course so far but I would still really appreciate any help or advice.

Also, is the Chinese Medicine Theory confusing to everyone when they first start studying it or is it just me??

Thank you in anticipation

Comments / Discussions:

comment by "ChadD" (acupuncturist)
on Nov 2008

Learning the acupuncture points and related theories can certainly be an overwhelming amount of information to digest and recall. Personally I found that drawing the meridians out completely on paper with their locations and one or two basic usages - over and over - was the most helpful way for me. I used to do a meridian nearly every day. The exams were usually quite easy at that point with so much repetition. I also built parts of this site when I was in school and used the "mouse overs" on the meridian pictures to help quiz myself. So if you go to any meridian page, say the Large Intestine, you can hold the mouse over a particular point and the location will appear on the page (it works better in a web browser like firefox than in Internet Explorer as IE seems to show only a certain number of characters). This way you can go down the meridian and see if you can remember the locations.